The Tree that Was

The tree is down, the tree is down! I came home from work last week to find 6 men with chainsaws and a bucket truck in my neighbour’s driveway reaching over to our side of the fence. The guy in charge chatted with me for a few minutes and told me it was the highest tree they’d taken down this summer – 90 ft. 90 ft of ash tree killed by the dreaded Emerald Ash Borer that’s taking forests down all over this area. Such a shame, really – it did block the neighbour’s house from view somewhat, even without leaves. However, now we don’t have to worry about it falling down during a storm or serving as a habitat for our pesky neighbourhood raccoons any more. They may be cute, but they get into the compost bin every single night!

Image

It may look cute…..

Now that I don’t have to worry about the tree, and now that my vegetables have really slowed down, I’m finding myself wondering what I should do to the garden before it gets too cold. My plan is to take up the plants that are no longer producing and chop them into our compost where they’ll have some chance to rot before winter. I’m also going to start thinking about moving some of our beds and plant locations around – my tomatoes were in the worst location for picking and my cucumbers had no real chance of success being dragged around every time I had to mow the lawn. Lessons learned!

We still have to clean the garage out, too. Our basement renovations resulted in tool and construction/demolition debris piles in there, and we haven’t had the time to get in there and really organize things. I’m beginning to realize that I feel the same way about gardening as I do about cooking and baking – if everything isn’t neat, orderly and laid out in a logical way so that I can move from task to task, I really don’t enjoy it as much. Browsing through gardening boards in Pinterest has given me a lot of inspiration for how I can organize, it’s just having the time and forethought to spend a Saturday morning setting everything up. It would be nice if someone did it for me!

“Give me six hours to chop down a tree and I will spend the first four sharpening the axe”.
– Abraham Lincoln
Leave a Reply

