Goodbye, Bugs? Homemade Insecticide

Image

Holey turnip leaves

How do bugs FIND my plants? I imagined that my nice, raised garden beds would be immune from everything, including tiny insects, but this is not the case. Only some of the veg seem to be affected, including the beans, radishes, turnip and arugula. I did some research and I think it’s flea beetles making the tiny holes in the leaves. Gross.

While it certainly makes my vegetables look unattractive, the damage isn’t too bad so far. My radishes have gotten it the worst, but apparently people plant radishes as a “trap crop” since the roots aren’t affected by flea beetles eating the leaves. Hopefully they’ll still be delicious, regardless of holes in the leaves.

I’m nervous about spraying a bunch of stuff onto my plants – what if I kill them? What if eating them kills us? In hopes of finding making things safe all around, I looked through several recipes online for natural, homemade insecticides, and came up with my own version for my garden.

Homemade Insecticide

Mix the following in a spray bottle:
4 cups of water
1/2 tsp dish soap (I used Sunlight)
1 tbsp baking soda
1 tbsp canola oil

I mixed the ingredients together in my spray bottle and sprayed all over the affected leaves. Hopefully this will solve my flea beetle problem!

Image

Homemade Insecticide!

Image

Spraying the radishes

We’ll see how this works in the coming weeks. In the mean time, I have to remind myself now to be clean and proper and wash everything before I eat it…..

Leave a Reply

