Cedars!

Yippee, they're here!

Yippee, they’re here!

I am beyond thrilled that our cedars have arrived. The lovely people at Cole’s delivered them while we were at work and I came home to see all 9 of them in our driveway! These guys are going to grow (fingers crossed) into a lush hedge that will give us some privacy and screen the pink playhouse from view (I’m not a grinch of a neighbour, I promise!)

The first three are planted!

The first three are planted!

We gave these a lot of water when we put them in and are going to have to keep watering like crazy for a while. The tree at the back of the yard  seems to be dormant due to lack of water last year, says our neighbour, but we’re operating under the assumption that it’s sucking most of the water out of the ground. Cedars need a lot when first transplanted to establish roots, or so I’m told!

Three in, six to go. I'm pumped! But then again, I'm not the one digging the holes for the new cedars..... thanks Dave!

 I’m pumped! But then again, I’m not the one digging the holes for the new cedars….. thanks Dave!

She wanted only her own strawberry farm, the fragrance of the fields and the cedar trees, and to live simply in this place forever.

– David Guterson, Snow Falling on Cedars

Leave a Reply

