LATE FROST!

Image

A nice, warm, blue plastic blanket

It’s a good thing Dave follows the weather! We had two days of frigid temperatures this week and two nights of frost warnings. I’m not sure that anything we planted would DIE with frost (I haven’t planted anything that has “after-last-frost-date” warnings on it)…. but it probably wouldn’t do them any good. Time for some quick thinking!

Image

Little hats on my pea plants. Actually, I think peas do all right in frost, but better safe than sorry.

It’s warmer now, but I’m sure that people around here lost some of their plants this week. I can’t imagine what it must be like to be a farmer and plant acres of a crop – what if there is frost mid-May, after the average last frost? What could you possibly do?

I’m keeping things small-scale!

(Side note: Do you see those small brown things scattered all over the garden? They are from our tree out front and they are EVERYWHERE. Every time I pick them up, more fall down!)

Leave a Reply

