Perennial Beds & the First Harvest

Digging up the garden bed

Digging up the garden bed

It’s been another heavy-duty work weekend. We’re still waiting on the cedars for the hedge along the back, so it’s not quite there, but it’s definitely coming along. I planted parsley, chives and some sunflowers today, too.

My grandparents gave us some perennials a few days ago after thinning out their own garden. We already had some in our garden – hostas, daylilies, that sort of thing – so we dug them out and divided them up so we could plan everything out. We also picked up some vines to climb up the side of the garage, a rhododendron and a hydrangea to add some depth and interest to the beds.

Planning the layout

Planning the layout (Look, I’m doing something!)

I find I have a hard time visualizing what I want the garden to look like without actually looking at the plants I’ll be using, so I found it helpful to have everything in front of me.

Dave used the spade to create a more defined edge around the bed and made it curve slightly. It needs a little more finessing but it’s already looking way better than the bricks that originally defined the edge… *shudder*.

Our perennial beds are coming along..

Our perennial beds

All we need are our cedars and a load of mulch to make it look finished and help keep the weeds down. I’m hoping the plants we have will grow quickly and spread out. If they don’t spread that much, I may get some annuals to fill things in a bit and add colour.

We put down some grass seed in the bare areas along the edge of our beds and gave it some water. It’s supposed to rain this week in our area so I’m hoping I won’t have to walk over the seeded areas to water the raised beds.

View from above! Starting to look like someone cares.

View from above! Starting to look like someone cares (apart from that wonky edge there..)

We also had our very first harvest this weekend! The cress has grown to about 3 inches and is ready to eat. Any bigger and it won’t taste as good, I’m told. I snipped them with scissors and left about 1/2 inch of the plant which should keep growing.

This crop is headed for a bacon, cucumber and cress sandwich.. mmm.

IMG_9153

Cress-tastic.

My lesson learned here is to sow cress more thickly. Because we harvested it so young, I could have planted more and had more than one sandwich’s worth of cress!

I’m just loving this. Vegetable gardening is the best! I’ve given up on having nice fingernails this summer, though. A sacrifice I’m more than willing to make. And speaking of dirty fingernails….

After we were done in the backyard, Dave let me sweep the front walk and driveway like this without telling me what I looked like. Yikes.

After we were done in the backyard, Dave let me sweep the front walk and driveway like this without telling me what I looked like. Yikes. I look insane.

Gardening is a kind of disease.  It infects you, you cannot escape it.  When you go visiting, your eyes rove about the garden; you interrupt the serious cocktail drinking because of an irresistible impulse to get up and pull a weed.  

– Lewis Gannit

Leave a Reply

