Last Frost Date & Garden Menaces

As the weather becomes gradually warmer, I’m seeing more tiny shoots and sprouts poking their way through the soil. The average last frost date for our area was Monday, April 29, and I’m hoping we’ve already seen our last frost come and go! I haven’t planted any of my “after last frost date” seeds yet – since the weather has been up and down, I’m going to wait until the weekend and see what the forecasts are saying.

I’m getting a little nervous about my beds and some paw prints I’ve being seeing – I even found one of our pea seeds dug up the other day! I’m not 100% sure who’s doing the damage, although one particular little menace who plays in the backyard while we’re at work comes to mind….

Roar!

Rawr!

Really, though, it could be a number of little villains – squirrels, rabbits, raccoons or cats – but aside from  putting something on top of the beds during the day and at night, I’m not quite sure what to do! It’s hard, especially during the day when we’re at work, to catch Winnie at it and tell her off (or spray her in the face with water… that usually does the trick!). She’s the type of pup who knows exactly when to strike – when we’re not looking.

Despite some disturbance, most things are coming along quite nicely (I really have no idea what they SHOULD be doing, but I see green which must be a good thing!). My brussels sprouts are popping through, the onions are shooting up like crazy, the cress is looking delicious , and my peas have started! The only seeds that haven’t done ANYTHING so far are the leek seeds. I probably should have heeded the many warnings that say to start leeks indoors…. only time will tell.

Onions!

Onions!

Brussels Sprout - mmmm!

Brussels Sprout – mmmm!

I can’t wait until I can plant some more seeds. I’m really looking forward to getting some pepper and tomato plants as well as the weather gets even warmer.

This is either a pea shoot or a weed. Yay peas!

This is either a pea shoot or a weed. Yay peas!

“A garden to walk in and immensity to dream in–what more could he ask? A few flowers at his feet and above him the stars.” 

– Victor Hugo, Les Miserables

One Comment on “Last Frost Date & Garden Menaces”

  1. Doug Loney says:

    That’s definitely a pea plantlook at the little teeny tendril.

    I’m enjoying the posts!

    From: green garden bean <comment-reply@wordpress.com> Reply-To: green garden bean <comment+_awclwmsqpilrk1e9scvcq@comment.wordpress.com> Date: Wednesday, May 1, 2013 7:33 PM To: Doug Loney <dloney@tyndale.ca> Subject: [New post] Last Frost Date & Garden Menaces

    laura posted: “As the weather becomes gradually warmer, I’m seeing more tiny shoots and sprouts poking their way through the soil. The average last frost date for our area was Monday, April 29, and I’m hoping we’ve already seen our last frost come and go! I haven’t plan”


Leave a Reply

