The Beginning

My husband Dave and I just bought our first home – a 1920s, 2 1/2 storey brick home in the heart of Hamilton, ON. We have a lot of work to do inside, but since it’s spring, we decided to focus our energy outside.

Growing up, I never had the opportunity to grow more than a few herbs on a window sill since our backyard was in full shade and we spent summers at the family cottage. When we bought this house, I couldn’t wait to get started transforming the backyard into something beautiful. More importantly, though, I wanted to grow things I could eat. I dream about food whenever I’m not cooking or eating it – so what could be better than having a supply right outside my door?

So here’s what I’m starting with. This is a shot of the backyard, as seen from our second floor balcony:

Backyard - Before

Can you spot our “problem areas”?

IMG_8755

South side of the yard – in front of the garage there’s a small shed, too.

As you can see, we have a lot to do. But it’s got potential!

One day soon, this will (hopefully) be a paradise of rainbow-coloured carrots, sugar snap peas and sun-ripened tomatoes. Right now, it’s filled with dead plants, garbage, pink playhouses and mini wooden bridges in the middle of the yard. I can hardly wait to get started!

One Comment on “The Beginning”

  1. themofman says:

    Congrats on your new home!


Leave a Reply

